The Great Gatsby- Book Review

16 Sep

gatsby-original-cover-artI’m not going to lie, after seeing the grandeur in Baz Luhrman’s 2013 film adaption of The Great Gatsby, I just had to read the novel for myself- and boy, I was not let down!
The Great Gatsby- Written by F. Scott Fitzgerald

After the war, the mysterious Jay Gatsby, a self-made millionaire pursues wealth, riches and the lady he lost to another man with stoic determination. When Gatsby finally does reunite with Daisy Buchanan, tragic events are set in motion. Told through the eyes of his detached and ever-present neighbour and friend, Nick Carraway, the story reveals destruction and tragedy that awaits.

partyBefore I began reading this novel, I already made the presumption that the text was going to be a difficult read and take time to comprehend what the author was saying, considering the book was published in 1925. However, after reading the first page, I realised that my assumption was wrong. Fitzgerald really surprised me; his writing style was quite modern and made so easy to read and understand!

Whenever you feel like criticizing any one,” he told me, “just remember that all the people in this world haven’t had the advantages that you’ve had.”

Fitzgerald’s writing style brought the text to life, but did not go overboard in the similes and metaphors and way OTT descriptions- a perfect balance. It was the party scenes especially that made me want to join in with the characters- the wealth and opulence of it all *swoon*

Apart from writing styles, this roaring twenties tragedy was a great read!
I don’t want to give any more of the storyline away, the blurb is as much as I will say…

This is definitely a classic story that must be read!

Thanks lovelies,
Chookie xoxox

Leave a Reply

