Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

15 Jul

Jane

Sitting on my bookshelf for over a year was the classic tale of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë, unread until last week. I thought it was about time to read this well known piece of literature and I honestly didn’t know what I was in for as I had never heard of Jane’s story.

It starts with ten year old Jane Eyre living in an unloved and abusive environment at Gateshead owned by her aunt, Mrs. Reed. Jane, whose parents who died when she was a baby, was adopted by her loving uncle Mr. Reed who loved and adored her more than his own three children. When Mr. Reed was on his deathbed, he made his wife promise she would look after Jane as her own, a promise which was eventually broken when Jane was ten and sent to a charity school called Lowood Institution. It’s here where Jane learns to discipline herself for her future life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets the mysterious master Mr. Edward Rochester.Eyre & Rochester

I shall leave the story there for you who haven’t read it yet.

This tale is refreshing to read as the happy ending wasn’t over exaggerated like the fairy tales I’ve been brought up with. Not everything went right, in fact so much went wrong and while the ending wasn’t exactly perfect by my standards, it was perfect for the characters in the tale. But in saying all that, I really enjoyed the story and was quite sad to finish it, but alas, all good things must come to an end.

You will like this book if you love Wuthering Heights.

– Lights x

One Response to “Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë”

  1. Ellen July 15, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    I was surprised at how much I enjoyed this book 🙂

Leave a Reply

