Fibre Extension Mascaras – In Or Out?

1 Jul

If you’ve recently checked out the make-up aisle at your local pharmacy or drug store, you might have noticed a few new mascaras containing fibre extensions. These mascaras contain little fibres that catch onto your lashes, claiming to make them longer and thicker – without spending loads of money at the salon. A few new ones have come out recently, but don’t be fooled into thinking they are sooo IN! This week I thought I would try one of these mascaras, Illegal Length (waterproof) by Maybelline New York.

The Experience?'Illegal Length'
When you first open a good mascara, the brush is full of black gold magic, ready to spread smoothly over your lashes… when I opened this one, the brush was dry and looked like broken spiders legs!!! For a freshly opened mascara, I thought I was opening one already used! The fibre extensions reminded me of those stray pieces of cotton or lashes you would find sometimes stuck in the brush, worst thing was they were everywhere! So imagine when it came to applying these fibres to the lashes. It wasn’t as smooth as I thought it would be and in the end, my lashes just looked flaky. Later in the day after applying this mascara, I could feel one of the little fibres poking whenever I closed my eyes. Ouch!

My Verdict?
Maybe I got a bad batch, I really HOPE I got a bad batch!
I’m giving this product an OUT!
If you are daring and still want to try one of these fibre extension mascaras then I recommend trying another brand, don’t waste money on this one!

– Lights x

4 Responses to “Fibre Extension Mascaras – In Or Out?”

  1. Pinsey July 1, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    That’s actually really good advice, I was gonna buy some the other day, I def won’t buy these ones, when and if I do, I’ll let you know how I go 🙂

    • laurenlights July 1, 2013 at 8:25 pm #

      You’re welcome! 😀
      Definitely let us know how you go if you try one, we would love to hear!!

  2. rubenesquebeautyblog July 6, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    Great review!

    We just started out our own beauty blog and would love your support. Our most recent post is a ‘Battle of the Mascaras’ review. Would love to know if your experiences are the same as ours http://rubenesquebeautyblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/05/battle-of-the-mascaras/ Other posts include a guide to the perfect starter brush kit, date night tutorial and an eyeshadow colour guide based off eye colour. The full site is http://rubenesquebeautyblog.wordpress.com/ we also have an instagram @rubenesquebeautyblog so if you have one too follow us and hit us up with a comment so we can find you

  3. Pinsey July 14, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    I brought one the other da, can’t remember the name, but I’ll be posting the pictures of it onto either lights or jescas page.

Leave a Reply

